

**Comhairle Chontae Uibh Fhaili** Offaly County Council

## Minutes of Annual Meeting of Offaly County Council

Held on 19<sup>th</sup> June 2023 at 3.30pm, in Áras an Chontae, Charleville Road, Tullamore and via Zoom

The Meetings Administrator carried out a roll call to confirm attendance

Present	
Cllr. Frank Moran, Cathaoirleach	
Cllr. John Carroll	Cllr. Declan Harvey
Cllr. Clare Claffey	Cllr. John Leahy
Cllr. John Clendennen	Cllr. R. McDermott
Cllr. Noel Cribbin	Cllr. T. McCormack
Cllr. Eamon Dooley	Cllr. Sean O'Brien
Cllr. Neil Feighery	Cllr. Peter Ormond
Cllr. Eddie Fitzpatrick	Cllr. Danny Owens
Cllr. John Foley	Cllr. Liam Quinn
Cllr. Mark Hackett	

# Apologies Cllr. K. Smollen Officials in Attendance

Ms. A. Delaney, Chief Executive; Mr. T. Shanahan, D.O.S.; Ms. S. Kennedy, D.O.S.; Ms. A. Dillon, D.O.S.; Mr. M. Connolly, H.O.F.; Mr. E. Fennell, S.E.O.; Mr. G. Bruton, Meetings Administrator and Ms. L. Carbery, C.O.

### 1. Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr. F. Moran welcomed the members, Cllr. E. Fitzpatrick's family and Deputy Barry Cowen T.D. to the Annual Meeting.

He thanked the members for their courtesy throughout his term as Cathaoirleach. He acknowledged the spirited debates between members and their commitment to serving Offaly. He thanked the Chief Executive, Directorate and their teams for their help and assistance. He thanked the electorate for providing him with the opportunity to be Caathaoirleach and acknowledged the huge honour it was to perform this role.

He welcomed the many events he attended as Cathaoirleach, most memorably with the Chief Executive in New York, participating in three parades in March for St. Patricks Day. He was honoured to host a civic reception for Offaly boxers, welcoming the President Michael D. Higgins and his wife Sabina to the opening of Esker Arts and the signing of the contract for housing development in Raheen, Clara. He acknowledged the work and effort that the members and staff had put into drafting and

adopting the County Development Plan 2021 – 2027. He thanked Cllr. T. McCormack for assisting him in his role as Leas Cathaoirleach and Cllr. N. Feighery for stepping in on occasion. He expressed his pride that his mother saw him elected Cathaoirleach in the Chamber and in hosting the May meeting of Offaly County Council in his home town of Clara.

The members joined with Cllr. T. McCormack in thanking the Cathaoirleach for a fantastic year, being a pleasure to work with and for the people of Offaly.

Cllr. T. McCormack thanked the management and council staff for their work in preparing events. He welcomed the opportunities he had as Leas Cathaoirleach in signing the contract for a new road in Edenderry, attending pride of place awards and presenting prizes at the Enterprise Awards. He noted it was a great honour to attend the Offaly person of year award honour.

On behalf of Fine Gael members, Cllr. N. Feighery thanked the Cathaoirleach for his great work and capability.

Cllr. S. O' Brien as independent member thanked him for his fairness to everyone and facilitating business at the meetings.

Ms. A. Delaney, Chief Executive added her thanks for his courtesy and work. She acknowledged that it is challenging to hold down a full time job while maintaining the role of Cathaoirleach and she welcomed the opportunity to host a meeting in Clara for first meeting outside the chamber since before Covid-19.

Cllr. F. Moran sought nominations for Cathaoirleach.

In proposing Cllr. C. Claffey for Cathaoirleach Cllr. S. O'Brien, cited her role as first elected member of Social Democrats and her activity in a number of groups, carrying out a lot of work on disability and integration. Cllr. M. Hackett seconded the proposal.

In proposing Cllr. E. Fitzpatrick for Cathaoirleach, Cllr. R. McDermott stated his wealth of experience, having served previously as Cathaoirleach for Offaly County Council and Edenderry Municipal District. Cllr. J. Leahy seconded the proposal.

A vote was called on the nomination of Cllr. C. Claffey for the role of Cathaoirleach as proposed by Cllr. S. O'Brien and seconded by Cllr. M. Hackett:

In favour: Cllrs. C. Claffey, M. Hackett and S. O'Brien.

Against: Cllrs. J. Carroll, J. Clendennen, N. Cribbin, E. Dooley, N. Feighery, E. Fitzpatrick, J. Foley, D. Harvey, J. Leahy, T. McCormack, R. McDermott, F. Moran, P. Ormond, D. Owens and L. Quinn. Apologies: Cllr. K. Smollen

A vote was called on the nomination of ClIr. E. Fitzpatrick for the role of Cathaoirleach as proposed by ClIr. R. McDermott and seconded by ClIr. J. Leahy:

In favour: Cllrs. J. Carroll, J. Clendennen, N. Cribbin, E. Dooley, N. Feighery, E. Fitzpatrick, J. Foley, D. Harvey, J. Leahy, T. McCormack, R. McDermott, F. Moran, P. Ormond, D. Owens and L. Quinn. Against: Cllrs. C. Claffey, M. Hackett and S. O'Brien. Apologies: Cllr. K. Smollen

Cllr. F. Moran deemed Cllr. E. Fitzpatrick elected Cathaoirleach for the coming year.

Cllr. E. Fitzpatrick thanked his proposer and seconder and noted his honour to take up position for second time. He acknowledged his party members and deputy Barry Cowen's support in the chamber and welcomed members of his family, also thanking them for their support. He looked forward to working with the Chief Executive, management team and all staff members.

The Chief Executive joined with the members in welcoming Cllr. E. Fitzpatrick to the role of Cathaoirleach of Offaly County Council.

### 2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Cllr. E. Fitzpatrick, Cathaoirleach sought nominations for Leas Cathaoirleach.

On the proposal of Cllr. D. Harvey, seconded by Cllr. F. Moran the members resolved to elect Cllr. D. Owens as Leas Cathaoirleach.

There being on other nominations, Cllr. E. Fitzpatrick, Cathaoirleach deemed Cllr. D. Owens elected Leas Cathaoirleach.

Cllr. D. Owens thanked all members for their support.

Ms. A. Delaney Chief Executive welcomed him to the role.

#### **MINUTES CONFIRMED**

CATHAOIRLEACH

RUNAÍ



17 July 2023